Design Project

The idea I’ve had for my design project is to investigate online delivery in the form of screen capture.  I have recently created a set of screen casts aimed at international students, shot with the purpose of showing them how to access journal articles through Summon.  Last year alongside Academic Skills Tutors for the School of Business I took part in a course called the Bridging Course which was aimed at post-graduate international students.  These students were often weak in academic writing and research skills.  I was asked to show them how to effectively use Summon to find specific academic journal articles as well as search for resources on a particular topic.  This year it was decided to deliver the course as an online module called Academic Matters.  I therefore had to translate my teaching for use in an online forum.  With the help of a technical person called Friday, I made several short screencasts using Camtasia.  Students can now access these and according to the Academic Skills Tutors have been well received.

Here is the first of the screencasts – you need to log onto Unitube first in you are accessing this from off campus.

Summon screencast 1

1 Comment

Filed under Design project

One response to “Design Project

  1. Just had a quick look at your screen cast, it’s really clear and easy to follow. Very impressive.
    I too, am going to go down the Camtasia route with my project idea, although I haven’t yet got my head around some of it’s wider features such as embedding flash quiz sections. Hope all goes well with the remaining write-up.
    Kind regards
    Paul D.

Leave a Reply

